Tuesday, January 16, 2024

Lionel Messi won the player of the year for the 2nd time in a row

Lionel Messi won the player of the year for the 2nd time in a row

source image - Google 

Argentina national team and Inter Miami club captain Lionel Messi has been named FIFA Player of the Year 2023. According to many, Arling Haaland was leading the race to win this title. He lost Haaland in a close fight outside the field. Regardless of performance, both the stars put each other in a tough challenge. But in the end, the Argentinian captain made the bet. Within a few months of winning the Ballon d'Or, the award is back in Messi's hands.

There were practically stars at the grand event. Several legendary players of world football were present. British female journalist Reshmin Chowdhury and former French football star Thierry Henry played the role of host in the event. Tributes were paid to the late three legendary footballers Mario Zagallo, Franz Beckenbauer and Bobby Charlton. Former footballer Paul Breitner remembers Beckenbauer, the emperor of German football.

Why was Messi selected as the best player?

The battle between Messi and Haaland has been fierce. Performance from December 19, 2022 to August 20, 2023 is weighted. The boys were voted 'The Best' by national team coaches, captains, journalists and fans spread across the globe. This decision is in accordance with Article 12 of the FIFA Constitution. Messi got the votes of most national team captains including India captain Sunil Chhetri, Egypt's Salah, England's Harry Kane. As a result, just like Mbappe, Argentina's World Cup-winning captain won the best of the year award, defeating his nearest rival Haaland. Lionel Messi has been 'FIFA the best' for the second time in a row. Third time in all. On Monday night, the 'FIFA The Best' event took place in London.

Messi was unable to attend the night of FIFA 'The Best'

But why was Messi not present at such an event?

According to an Argentinian media report, Messi did not want to miss any training for Inter Miami. He had to miss 4 practice sessions for Miami when he went to London. Messi didn't want to do that before taking the field for Miami in pre-season. As a result, Messi decided not to go to this event. Former French national team player Thierry Henry accepted the award on his behalf.

FIFA Coach of the Year

World football's governing body FIFA organized the awards ceremony for the best of the year 'The Best' in London on Monday night. World Cup winning Argentina captain Lionel Messi won the male footballer of the year title. And Pep Guardiola, the coach of English Premier League club Manchester City, who won the triple crown last season, took away the best coach of the year award.

There were three contenders for the 2024 FIFA 'The Best' award as men's football coaches. Manchester City coach Pep Guardiola was nominated alongside Inter Milan coach Simone Inzaghi and Italy coach Luciano Spalletti. But Guardiola won the best men's coach title as the team won the treble.

Lionel Messi won the player of the year for the 2nd time in a row
Source image - Google 

FIFA Other Category Awards

Women's 'The Best' Coach Award was won by England Women's coach Sarina Wiegman.

Man City's treble-winner Elison won the best male goalkeeper award.

England and Manchester United goalkeeper Mary Earps has been named the best female goalkeeper for the second time in a row.

Brazil receives Fairplay Award for strong stance against racism. 

Hugo Daniel Iniguez received the best supporter award.

Guilherme Madurga's goal won the Puskas Award. His bicycle kick goal is considered the best.

Aitana Bonmati is the FIFA Women's 'The Best'.

FIFA Marta Award

It was announced at the ceremony that from next year the award for the best goal in girls' football will be named 'Marta Award'. Marta, the former star of Brazil's women's football team, was given a special honor at the ceremony. Marcia Aoki, wife of the late football king Pele, presented the special trophy to him.

More News:

Gujarat Titans are committed to bringing in football talent 

Powered by Blogger.